“What Are You Going To Do After You Graduate?”

IMG_4093[1]

I’ve heard this lately more than ever.

When people ask me that, part of me is like, I don’t know! I don’t need to know that yet. I’ve got time. 

But then I think about it, and I realize that next year is my last year of school.  Like, I am a senior next year.  Normally I’d be a junior, but my mom, brother and I looked at the MI high-school requirements for graduating and I planned everything out so that I finish out this year, possibly do some things over the summer, and begin my senior year next fall.  My immediate reaction as I looked at the piece of notebook paper in front of me was like, Oh my gosh!! I am going to gain another year of my life to do anything! It’s so exciting to be so close to completing such a huge part of my life.

Then it kind of sunk in..wait a sec – what am I going to do in 2017? 

I’ve never had that thought before because it was always the same: another year of school.  The only differences each year was the increase of work, but every fall brought history, chemistry, civics, biology, etc.  It’s kind of easy to assume that’s the norm for everyone, that in 6 years, I’m still going to be doing this.  But that’s not really the reality.  In 6 years, I’ll be turning 21.  High-school will be a memory.  That’s really weird to think, but it’s true.

So, what am I going to do?

I have no idea.

A few years, even months ago, that didn’t bother me.  Like I said, I just told myself I had plenty of time to consider college and stuff.  But the past few weeks, even today as I was resetting my schedule after winter break,  I realized that I can’t finish my last day of high-school and automatically know my life plan.  You have to start planning ahead of time.

When I was a young adolescent of about 11, graduating meant I had a phone, I could drive, and I probably had a boyfriend.  None of those has happened yet, which I am quite okay with.

This post doesn’t really have a conclusion…I’m not leading up to announcing what college I’m going to, or the career I’m pursuing, because I’m still a little clueless about those details.  I guess I’m saying all this to

1)  bore you with my train of thought

or

2) remind every high-schooler, or middle-schooler, or whatever-schooler, that it’s good to be thinking about what you want to do after school.  I’m not saying you have to know everything you are going to do the minute you graduate, but I’m just sharing what I’ve discovered as I’m wrapping up my many years of education.  (Not that you ever stop learning things, by education I mean the regular years of high-school.)

I guess my third reason for writing this post is also stating not only how important your after school years are, but also how unimportant they are.

Yeah, you shouldn’t float aimlessly about in life, latching onto whatever you feel like doing for a couple of years, then moving onto some other time-wasting activity, but in the grand scheme of things, it is not that big of a deal what college you go to.  I am not in any way saying that after highschool your attitude should be “Well, as long as I stay out of trouble, it doesn’t really matter what I do.” No, you should have goals in life.  But I’m trying to say that when you die, is God going to say “Whoa whoa whoa, you didn’t make it to Columbia University? Forget it.”  That stuff won’t make one bit of difference for your eternal fate.

I hope this wasn’t too scatterbrained. I just haven’t written here in a while and that’s what I’ve been thinking about lately.

What do my fellow high-schoolers think? Any graduated folks care to give any advice? Thanks for hanging in there! 🙂

Naomi Rae

p.s. my 15th birthday is on Wednesday! 😀

 

2 thoughts on ““What Are You Going To Do After You Graduate?”

  1. Naomi, thanks for your honesty!

    The best advice I can give is to place God at the center of your life, and His plans will turn out to be better than anything you could ever imagine for yourself (Psalm 37:4, Matthew 6:33, John 14:1).

    Blessings, Lexi 🙂

Leave a Reply

