Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

Last night I made these; I thought it would be fun to give a “tutorial”. I’ve tried doing those before and they kinda failed, but this sort of turned out. 🙂

So at our church we have this thing called Family Music Night about every six months. I posted a video from my brother’s “band” from last FMN. (He’s playing the drums-you can’t really see him behind the piano) https://pictureperphect.wordpress.com/2014/04/10/the-struggle/ We just do stuff like that; pretty much somehow related to music, but sometimes the kids will make a set out of Lego’s that illustrates something from the Bible. It’s sooo fun–I wish we did it more often than twice a year!  Anyways, (sorry, I’m kind of taking the long story long) Well, I signed our name on the dessert list to bring, so now I have to make them. 🙂 I was looking though a cookbook and found these that I made..oh, a year ago maybe? Not sure. Well, I don’t love them, but they’re fun to make, and it makes a fun blog post.  So here we go! (btw, Long Story Short,  “I found this recipe last night and decided to try it.” 😛 )

image_1

Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

Ingredients:

2 Cups of Granulated Sugar (just regular white sugar)

1/2 Cup of Vegetable Oil

2 Teaspoons of Vanilla

4 Ounces unsweetened baking chocolate, melted and cooled.

4 large eggs

2 cups All-Purpose Flour

2 Teaspoons Baking Powder

1/2 Teaspoon Salt

1 Cup Powdered Sugar



1. Mix in granulated sugar, oil, vanilla and chocolate in large bowl. Mix in eggs, one at a time. Stir in flour, baking powder and salt. Your dough should look something like this:

2014-10-20 19.16.24

Cover and refrigerate at least 3 hours.  

I didn’t have any vegetable oil, so I just melted one stick of butter, and…that’s it. You just need the fat, so butter will do.

2014-10-20 19.01.15

Also, pay attention and read the whole recipe before starting it! Because I swear I did…but I kind of totally missed that it had to sit in the fridge for 3 hours! So I started making them in the evening, and it got to be too late, so I finished them this morning.

Another side note: I didn’t have enough baking chocolate, so I took 3/4 of a cup of cocoa powder and half a stick of butter melted. That did the trick. 🙂

2. Heat oven to 350* (I always do this right as I start so that it has time to heat up…). Grease cookie sheet with shortening. Or in my case, don’t grease it, just use a non-stick silicone cookie sheet pad thing.         

3. Drop dough by teaspoonfuls into powdered sugar.

IMG_0644
Here’s a recommendation: Put the bowl of cookie dough back in the fridge while the one batch is cooking. Mine got SO STICKY because they had been sitting out for a long time and I couldn’t get them to form into balls at all. :p
IMG_0648
Then –here’s the messy part– roll them in powdered sugar!!!! 😀

Shape into balls. Place about 2 inches apart on a cookie sheet. I have a pretty big cookie sheet, but I only put like eight on there, because they get pretty huge if you make the balls as big as I did.

IMG_0650

4. Bake 10-12 minutes or until almost no indentation remains when touched. Remove from cookie sheet. Cool on wire rack.

IMG_0641

ENJOY!

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

Leave a Reply

